Last call for entries to new-look garden media ‘Oscars’

With less than a fortnight to go, gardening publications, bloggers, writers, presenters, journalists and photographers are being urged to enter the new-look Garden Media Guild Awards. The deadline for entries is 30 September 2018

In true gardening fashion, the categories have been given a prune and spruce up this year with three new awards up for grabs.  Horticultural trade press has its own new category, Trade Publication of the Year; Digital Innovation of the Year celebrates online publishing, and Social Media Influencer of the Year recognises the trend-setting power of ‘horti’ social sharing.  Each category also will now be judged by three people instead of two. Entries are welcomed from those who are members of the Garden Media Guild and also non-members. 

Clare Foggett, chair of the Garden Media, said: "As one of the UK’s most popular activities, gardening touches millions and it’s our horticultural media that often helps kick-start or nurture people’s interest. Our annual awards are recognition of the hard work, passion and fun that goes into producing the extensive content and images that are viewed, clicked on and listened to across the country.  By entering you get the chance to have your work recognised as being the best in the industry, something that can really help your career to bloom.”

The full list of categories for 2018 are as follows:

The Peter Seabrook Practical Book of the Year Award, sponsored by The Garden Press Event

Garden Book of the Year (Reference and Inspirational)

Garden Publication of the Year, sponsored by Bosch

Trade Publication of the Year, sponsored by The Landscape Show

The Dr David Hessayon Garden Columnist of the Year Award        

News Journalist of the Year, sponsored by Briggs & Stratton

Practical Journalist of the Year, sponsored by Thompson & Morgan

Journalist of the Year, sponsored by Stihl

The Gordon Rae Photographer of the Year Award  

Features Photographer of the Year   

The Roy Lancaster TV Broadcast of the Year Award, sponsored by HTALast call for entries to new-look garden media ‘Oscars’

Radio Broadcast / Podcast of the Year         

The Alan Titchmarsh New Talent Award, sponsored by Hayloft

Blog of the Year, sponsored by Mr Fothergill’s

Website of the Year, sponsored by Honda

Digital Innovation of the Year, sponsored by Cobra

Social Media Influencer of the Year  

The deadline for entries is 30 September 2018 and the Garden Media Guide awards lunch will be held on 29 November 2018 at the Savoy in London.  More information at